GOP wins 4 Ind. House seats from Democrats

INDIANAPOLIS - Republicans have won four Indiana House seats from Democrats in their bid to strengthen their control of the General Assembly.

Republican Peggy Mayfield defeated Democratic Rep. Peggy Welch of Bloomington, while Republican Richard Hamm defeated Democratic Rep. Phil Pflum of Richmond. Republican Dale DeVon won an open seat given up by retiring Democratic Rep. Craig Fry of Mishawaka and Republican Jim Lucas will take the place of retiring Democratic Rep. Dave Cheatham.
Republicans held a 60-40 majority during the last General Assembly.
In a matchup of two incumbents in southwestern Indiana, Democratic Rep. Kreg Battles of Vincennes held an 89-vote advantage over Republican Rep. Bruce Borders of Jasonville out of nearly 25,000 votes cast. Democrat Christina Hale held 44-vote lead over Republican Rep. Cindy Noe of Indianapolis.
Print this article Back to Top