NewsCoronavirus

Actions

2020 Indianapolis 500 rescheduled to Aug. 23

Schedule of events for 102nd running of Indianapolis 500
Posted at 1:20 PM, Mar 26, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-26 21:56:12-04

INDIANAPOLIS — The 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 has been delayed to Sunday, Aug. 23 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The GMR Grand Prix has been rescheduled to Saturday, July 4.

The Indianapolis 500 was originally scheduled for Sunday, May 24. The GMR Grand Prix was scheduled to be run on Saturday, May 9.

NEWSLETTER | Get the latest news about COVID-19 in Indiana from RTV6 delivered straight to your inbox.

"The Month of May at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway is my favorite time of year, and like our fans, I am disappointed that we have had to reschedule the Indianapolis 500," IndyCar and IMS Owner Roger Penske said. "However, the health and safety of our event participants and spectators is our top priority, and we believe that postponing the event is the responsible decision with the conditions and restrictions we are facing. We will continue to focus on ways we can enhance the customer experience in the months ahead, and I'm confident we will welcome fans with a transformed facility and a global spectacle when we run the world's greatest race."

All concerts scheduled for the original weekend have been canceled, including REO Speedwagon and Styx on Friday, May 22, Luke Bryan on Saturday, May 23 and Martin Garrix on Sunday, May 24. Fans who made concert-specific purchases will be able to access a credit for any IMS event, including the Indy 500, or choose to receive a refund. IMS concert customers will receive further communication on how to exercise their ticketing options.

On-track action in August will begin at IMS with practice sessions on Wednesday and Thursday, Aug. 12-13, followed by Fast Friday on Aug. 14 and Indianapolis 500 Qualifications on Saturday and Sunday Aug. 15-16.

The updated 2020 IndyCar schedule is as follows:

Saturday, May 30

Streets of Detroit Race 1

Sunday, May 31

Streets of Detroit Race 2

Saturday, June 6

Texas Motor Speedway

Sunday, June 21

Road America

Saturday, June 27

Richmond Raceway

Saturday, July 4

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course

Sunday, July 12

Streets of Toronto

Saturday, July 18

Iowa Speedway

Sunday, Aug. 9

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Sunday, Aug. 23

Indianapolis 500 Mile Race

Sunday, Aug. 30

World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway

Sunday, Sept. 13

Portland International Raceway

Sunday, Sept. 20

WeatherTech Raceway at Laguna Seca

TBD Expected Finale

Streets of St. Petersburg