NewsLocal NewsCrime


Eleven Marion County students selected to participate in violence prevention fellowship

Indianapolis is one of the top '18 Airbnb cities
Posted at 4:50 PM, Jul 07, 2020
and last updated 2020-07-07 16:50:11-04

INDIANAPOLIS – Eleven Indianapolis students have been selected to participate in the Marion County Prosecutor’s 2020 Youth Violence Prevention Fellowship.

The fellowship, created in 2019 by former prosecutor Terry Curry, is a program for high school students to learn about policies, programs and networks in place designed to improve public safety.

“We are looking forward to learning from these students about how they want to address violence in our communities. Young voices should have a place in these discussions,” Marion County Prosecutor Ryan Mears said. “We know that violence has ripple effects, but so does advocacy.”

The 2020 Youth Violence Prevention Fellows are:

• Ronnelle Collins – Ben Davis University High School (Sophomore)

• Estefania Cortes Martinez – Riverside High School (Junior)

• Kapris Daniels – North Central High School (Junior)

• Austyn Davis – Herron High School (Sophomore)

• Kyle Haslet – Bishop Chatard High School (Senior)

• Maggie Johnson – Southport High School (Junior)

• Elias Munoz – North Central High School (Junior)

• Lissania Perez – Riverside High School (Senior)

• Mia Rivas – North Central High School (Sophomore)

• Mya Suber – Herron High School (Sophomore)

• Kemone Williams – Riverside High School (Senior)