NewsLocal News

Actions

Indianapolis Library to host program on local philanthropist

Posted: 12:14 PM, Mar 06, 2019
Updated: 2019-03-06 12:16:29-05
File Art - Indianapolis Public Library

INDIANAPOLIS — The Indianapolis Public Library is inviting folks to learn the story of Madam C.J. Walker through a series of program scheduled this year.

Walker, who lived from 1867 to 1919, was a philanthropist, entrepreneur and hair care industry pioneer and the program aims to tell her story from a different point of view, the library said in a news release.

People are invited to learn about her early life and the legacy she created for women, African Americans and Indianapolis. The special, one-character performance by Freetown Village will repeat every 30 minutes during the scheduled time. The program, which is suitable for children, is sponsored by The Penrod Society and the Center for Black Literature & Culture at Central Library.

The program will be hosted in the Center for Black Literature & Culture at Central Library from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. on the following dates:

  • Saturday, March 16
  • Friday, May 3
  • Friday, Aug. 2
  • Saturday, Aug. 17
  • Friday, Sept. 6
  • Friday, Oct. 4
  • Friday, Dec. 6

The program will also be presented at the following Indianapolis Public Library locations from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.:

  • Friday, April 5 at the Wayne Branch, 198 S. Girls School Road
  • Saturday, June 8 at the College Avenue Branch, 4180 N. College Ave.
  • Saturday, July 7 at the Pike Branch, 6525 Zionsville Road

The program is free and open to the public.