NewsLocal NewsIndianapolis


Former RTV6 reporter Norman Cox inducted into the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame

Posted at 8:49 PM, Nov 01, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-01 23:55:29-04

INDIANAPOLIS -- Four long-time Hoosier broadcasters were inducted into the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame on Thursday, including former RTV6 reporter Norman Cox.

Cox, a veteran political reporter, retired exactly five years ago Thursday from RTV6 after nearly 37 years of covering the statehouse.

The event honored legendary Hoosier broadcasters from radio and television who served as powerful voices in their community over the years.

Also honored on Thursday was radio host Bernie Eagan, radio host Al Hobbs and TV host, reporter and producer Patty Spitler. 

“This is a very proud moment in my life,” said Cox. “Channel 6 will always be the high of my life.”

RTV6 was also awarded the 2018 Indiana Broadcaster Association Award for local community involvement for our work with IPS Washington-Irving Elementary School (now known as Urban Act Academy).

Read the Indiana Broadcasters' blurb on Norm Cox below.

Norm Cox

Norman Cox began as the Indiana Statehouse reporter at WRTV-6 Indianapolis in 1976.  During that time, he covered seven governors from Otis Bowen to Mike Pence.  He retired in November of 2013 after a 36-year career.

A two-time Emmy award winner, Norm also has received awards for excellence from The Associated Press, United Press International, Society of Professional Journalists and the Indianapolis Press Club.

Before coming to Indianapolis, Norm also worked for WTOL-TV Toledo, Ohio and has a Bachelor of Arts and Master’s degree in Journalism from The Ohio State University.

MORE TOP STORIES | Woman says men followed her and her daughter around Fishers Kroger store | Hamilton County teachers found dead in murder-suicideBungee cord caused crash on I-465 | Toddler drowns in creek after sneaking out of Noblesville home | Marion Dollar General closed by health department for rodents

Top Trending Videos