GOP wins big outside Marion County in 2018 election

GOP wins big outside Marion County in 2018 election
Posted at 9:16 AM, Nov 07, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-07 09:16:18-05

*All data is current as of 8:30 a.m. Wednesday*

INDIANAPOLIS — Indiana Democrats struggled to gain any ground on Republicans -- outside of local Marion County races -- on Election Day 2018.

In the state's most prominent election, the U.S. Senate seat, Republican Mike Braun defeated incumbent Democrat Joe Donnelly by as many as 10 points.

Braun's win helped Republicans nationally as the GOP gained at least two seats from the Democrats. Republicans flipped Senate seats in Indiana, Missouri, and North Dakota. Democrats flipped a seat in Nevada. Races in Montana, Arizona and Florida have yet to be called.

Republicans also won in U.S. House districts surrounding Indianapolis, such as District 4 (Jim Baird) District 5 (Susan Brooks), District 6 (Greg Pence) and District 9 (Trey Hollingsworth). Brooks and Hollingsworth were incumbents, Baird and Pence will be new to U.S. Congress. They are replacing Todd Rokita and Luke Messer, who vacated their seats in a failed bid for Senate.

Incumbent Democrat André Carson won District 7 by more than 30,000 seats. District 7 is largely made up of Marion County voters.

In Indiana, none of the U.S. House districts flipped parties. Seven out of the nine districts in the state remain Republican.

Connie Lawson, Tera Klutz, and Kelly Mitchell, all incumbent Republicans, were all re-elected to their positions of secretary of state, auditor and treasurer, respectively. Public Question 1, which requires state legislators to pass a balanced budget every two years, easily passed by more than 50 points.

Both IPS referendums passed, putting more than $250 million into Indianapolis Public Schools. 

Kerry Forestal and Terry Curry, both Democrats, are projected to win their Marion County races for sheriff and prosecutor, respectively. Democrat J.D. Ford upset incumbent Mike Delph in the state Senate District 29. Ford will be the state's first openly LGBTQ member of the Indiana General Assembly.

MORE TOP STORIES | Woman says men followed her and her daughter around Fishers Kroger store | Hamilton County teachers found dead in murder-suicideBungee cord caused crash on I-465 | Toddler drowns in creek after sneaking out of Noblesville home | Marion Dollar General closed by health department for rodents

Top Trending Videos