Fever home opener on Saturday to celebrate team's 20th anniversary

Posted: 10:42 PM, May 31, 2019
Updated: 2019-05-31 22:45:35-04

INDIANAPOLIS — The Indiana Fever started their 20th WNBA season last Friday with a win against the New York Liberty, who the team will be hosting when they hit the court at Bankers Life Fieldhouse for the first time this season on Saturday.

The Fever's 2019 home opener on Saturday will be a celebration of more than just Indianapolis' team being home, but a recognition of the Fever's 20th Anniversary Team.

According to Kevin Messenger, Director of Media Relations for the team, the 12 member team of the Fever's 20th Anniversary team were selected by mostly season ticket holders, but also select staff and media.

The 20th Anniversary team will consist of the following:

  • Tamika Catchings
  • Katie Douglas
  • Briann January
  • Tammy Sutton-Brown
  • Tully Bevilaqua
  • Ebony Hoffman
  • Candice Dupree
  • Erlana Larkins
  • Erin Phillips
  • Stephanie White
  • Shavonte Zellous

"I'm so proud to be able to present this team to our fans, let alone be on it myself," Catchings, a four-time Olympic gold medalist, and ten-time WNBA All-Star, said. "We have had such a great run of success. It's terrific to share this with our fan base, and I'm thrilled to see this league and franchise thrive for two decades."

Indiana hosts the New York Liberty Saturday at 7 p.m. at Bankers Life Fieldhouse, the site of every home game in franchise history.

The June 1 game takes place on the exact date that the Fever played its first game, June 1, 2000, in Miami.